Killer of Sheep.

Killer of sheep

I actually don’t mind the writer’s strike. I don’t watch much TV anyway and it frees up time to rent movies like Killer of Sheep, which I finally got around to checking off my list last night. This cryptic, beautifully framed masterpiece by Charles Burnett was restored and rereleased this fall to loads more critical acclaim (the first time around the Library of Congress declared it a national treasure) and I just learned it’ll be coming back out in wider release this spring. It’s a bleak, non-narrative film of jarring juxtapositions and a strangely disturbing soundtrack of mid-century pop music that manages not to temper scenes but to make them that much more haunting. Maybe it was the mood I was in but I was riveted.

Leave a Reply

