New Music Monday!

After reading a bunch of reviews, I finally got around to listening to Vampire Weekend’s debut disk. I have to be honest, I was really skeptical– a bunch of preppy kids from Columbia banging on bongos and singing about Louis Vuitton and summers on Martha’s Vineyard? Sounds like my worst nightmare (see: this guy). They’re actually a lot of fun, though. Jaunty reggae beats, nice harmonies, symphonic in places, synthesized in others– this is fresh, happy music. They’re too earnest to be pretentious. Listening to them makes me want to get out the croquet set, mix up some G&Ts and run around our springy, expansive Greenwich lawn barefoot.

Oh and look at that, Pitchfork reviewed them today! Swear I just saw that now.

Leave a Reply

